My journey to and Life in Britain

Move your pointing device over the image to zoom to detail. If using a mouse click on the image to toggle zoom.
When in zoom mode use + or - keys to adjust level of image zoom.

Date:1970 - 1979 (c.)

Description:I have two elder sisters and a younger brother.I am from a middle class family. I was living in an extended family in India with parents, grand parents and uncles. My father was a retired military officer. He served in the Second World War and then retired after a few years. He started farming at a family farm. I went to primary school in my village, Sanghwal and then to high school in Alawalpur. The school was about two and a half miles from my village. We walked to our school every day.When we came back from school, our parents used to wait for us to help them in the farming. I passed Matriculation in 1953 and went to college in Jalandhar city about 9 miles from my village.

We used to go to college on a bicycle because we could not afford public transport. I worked in Punjab Roadways in Jalandhar for two years and also helped in the farm.

This is a picture of my extended family.

Share:

Link to this resource

Donor ref:(33/789)

Copyright information: Copyrights to all resources are retained by the individual rights holders. They have kindly made their collections available for non-commercial private study & educational use. Re-distribution of resources in any form is only permitted subject to strict adherence to the usage guidelines.